Who is this article for?
Users responsible for managing reports.
Delete Report or Delete Draft Report permissions must be assigned.
From time to time you may need to delete a report. This is usually done when a report has been raised in error.
Important Note: If a report has been raised as a duplicate then the report can be linked to the existing record and then closed.
This article covers recommendations on reviewing a report and also steps on how to delete the report.
Important Note: Once a report has been deleted it cannot be recovered. Please ensure that deleting the record is the correct course of action before proceeding.
1. Review the Report
It is strongly recommended that you review the content of the report to ensure it is suitable for deletion.
There is no set process for this, however as a matter of best practice:
- Read the report information to make sure there are no crucial details on the record that you need to keep.
- Review the workflow. If this has been started then there may be actions that need to be cancelled.
- Be clear on the reason why this report needs to be deleted. There are other ways to handle reports that have been raised in error.
- Understand the implications of deleting a record. In some cases, auditors may review your record list and ask why there are gaps in the numbering sequence.
Tip! If you don’t want to delete the report you can instead close it and classify it as a duplicate, raised in error or cancelled.
2. Delete the Report
Important Reminder! Once a report has been deleted it cannot be recovered.
How to do it:
- Go to the report record.
- Click the action menu.
- Click Delete.